Infectious Disease Notifications


Health Protection Surveillance Centre (HPSC)

Key information

Notifications of infectious diseases, by type, case classification, sex and age group.


The National Computerised Infectious Disease Reporting (CIDR) system.


The list of notifiable diseases is given on the HPSC website ( The list of notifiable diseases is given on the HPSC website ( This statistic covers all notifiable diseases and pathogens.



Reference period

Calendar year

Start date



Typically, six months after the end of the reference year


  • Disease
    Diseases specified to be infectious under the current Infectious Disease Regulations such as Acute infectious gastroenteritis, Campylobacter infection, Cryptosporidiosis, Enterohaemorrhagic Escherichia coli, Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C, Influenza, Malaria, Measles, Meningococcal disease, Mumps, Noroviral infection, Salmonellosis, Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, Toxoplasmosis, Viral meningitis etc.
  • Case classification
    Confirmed; Probable; Possible; Not Specified.
  • Age
    0-4 years; 5-9; 10-14; 15-19; 20-24; 25-34; 35-44; 45-54; 55-64; 65+ years.


People and Society - Health

Page Created


Page Modified



acute age annual anthrax aureus bacillus bacteria bacterial bacterium botulism brucellosis campylobacter case centralized centre cereus cholera cidr cisid classification clostridium e. coli computerised confirmed creutzfeldt cryptosporidiosis diphtheria disease diseases ecdc echinococcosis encephalitis enterococcus enterohaemorrhagic escherichia fever fevers flu gastroenteritis giardiasis group haemophilus haemorrhagic health hepatitis hiv hpsc infection infections infectious influenza influenzae jakob legionellosis leptospirosis listeriosis malaria measles meningitis meningococcal mumps national ndsc noroviral notifiable notifications paratyphoid pathogens perfringens pertussis plague pneumoniae poisoning poliomyelitis possible probable protection rabies reporting respiratory rubella salmonellosis sars sex sexually shigellosis smallpox species staphylococcal staphylococcus streptococcus surveillance syndrome tetanus toxoplasmosis transmissible trichinosis tuberculosis tularemia typhoid typhus viral yellow yersiniosis