Penalty Points


Road Safety Authority

Key information

The number of penalty point notices issued classified by offence type and county of issue of driving licence. The number of drivers classified by the number of penalty points issued and the county of issue of driving licence.


The National Vehicle and Driver File - endorsements in accordance with Section 2 of the Road Traffic Act, 2002.


All motorists issued with penalty points.



Reference period

Calendar month

Start date

2007 quarter 1


One week after the end of the reference period


  • County
    Carlow; Cavan; Clare; Cork; Donegal; Galway; Kerry; Kildare; Kilkenny; Laois; Leitrim; Limerick county council; Longford; Louth; Mayo; Meath; Monaghan; Offaly; Roscommon; Sligo; North tipperary; South tipperary; Waterford county council; Westmeath; Wexford; Wicklow; Dublin city council (includes licences issued from all Dublin county offices); Limerick city council; Waterford city council; No driver number.
  • Offence (traffic)
    Speeding; Driving a vehicle while holding a mobile phone; No safety belt - driver; Fail to obey traffic lights; Fail to comply with prohibitory traffic signs; Cross continuous white line/broken white line; No insurance, user; Driving without reasonable consideration; Entry to hatched marked area; Offence relating to overtaking; + over thirty other offences listed.


People and Society - Crime and Justice

Page Created


Page Modified



accident accordance act ban banned belt breach careless carriageway cert certificate child comply consideration contravention crossing cycle dangerous drive driving duties entry fail flow footway garda hardshoulder junctions lane level line mandatory markings median motorway nct obey occurrence parking railway rear reasonable reduced restraint reversing road roundabout rule rules safety school seat sign signal signs stop track traffic turn unfit vehicle warden way worthiness yield