QQI Awards in Further Education and Training


Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI)

Key information

The number of awards classified by type, level, code, title, sex, age, region, training centre type and field of learning; the number of award holders classified by award type. Links


Contact us form on QQI website: www.qqi.ie/About/Pages/Contact_Us.aspx Source


Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI): FETAC certification data.


All FETAC awards, now awarded by QQI, which are typically based on programmes offered by a wide range of providers, including: Adult and community education and training centres, Agricultural and horticultural colleges, BIM training centres, Centres for learners with special needs , Fáilte Ireland training centres, Colleges of further education, Community training workshops, FÁS Net College, FÁS training centres, In-company sites, Institutes of technology, Literacy centres, Post Leaving Cert centres, Private Providers, Schools, Skillnets/work-based learning, Specialist training centres, Teagasc training centres, VECs, VTOS centres/Youthstart, Workplace, Youthreach centres.



Reference period

Calendar year

Start date

1994, with greater detail from 2006


Three months after the end of the reference period


  • Award type
    Certificates (Major); Component (Minor); Specific purpose; Supplemental
  • Course level (award)
    Level 1; Level 2; Level 3; Level 4; Level 5; Level 6.
  • Region (NUTS2)
    Border, Midland and Western; Southern and Eastern.
  • Age
    Less than 15 years ; 15-19; 20-24; 25-29; 30-34; 35-39; 40-44 45-49; 50-54; 55-59; 60-65; 66+ years.
  • Training centre type
    Bord Iascaigh Mhara centre; Community employment programme; Community training centre; Community/comprehensive school; Community/voluntary sector organisation; Department of Justice centre; Employer/work based learning; Fáilte Ireland centre; FÁS training centre; Higher education institution; Hospital CNE; Local training initiative; Private provider - college; Private provider - company; Private provider - individual; Public service agency;Sectoral Representative Body; Skillnet; Special school; Teagasc centre; Training for people with disabilities; VEC adult education centre; VEC further education college; VEC literacy service; VEC prison education centre; VEC school; VEC traveller education centre; VEC VTOS centre; VEC Youthreach centre; Voluntary secondary school; Youth service; Other.
  • Field of learning (FETAC
    Agriculture, science and computing; Arts, craft and media; Business and administration; Construction and the built environment; Core skills, language and general studies; Education, health and welfare; Engineering and manufacturing; Services; Tourism, hospitality and sport. (Further breakdown is provided by FETAC subfield and domain).
  • Field of learning (ISCED)
    General programmes; Education science; Humanities and arts; Social sciences, Business and law; Science; Engineering, manufacturing and construction; Agriculture; Health and welfare; Services


People and Society - Education

Page Created


Page Modified



arts award awards bim cert certification certificate certificates cne college colleges community component components comprehensive computing education engineering failte fas fetac fáilte fás hea hospitality humanities iascaigh institutes languages language learners level literacy mhara qqi school schools science skillnet skillnets skills studies teagasc technology tourism training vec vecs vtos workshops youthreach youthstart